Full Steam Ahead!

Work continues sheeting the left hand side of the nose section of the Viper.

Starting from the bottom, I begin cutting, drilling and dimpling the sheet aluminium panels.  The panel lines are very similar to the right hand side, but there are some differences.  Again, most of the sheet aluminium is 0.6mm, with a few of the smaller sections fabricated from 1.0mm sheet.

IMG_0335

IMG_0334

The following photos show the rough placement of a panel, which needs to be properly sized before being drilled and dimpled.

IMG_0336

IMG_0337

The photo below gives an idea of the size of the nose section, around 2 metres in length.

IMG_0330

I also started on the development of the remaining fuselage, from the nose section back to the cockpit.  I started with the front and rear bulkheads/formers and using a straight section of pipe, spanned the distance between them.  The remaining profiles of the formers could then be determined, by measuring the distance from the centreline to the stringer locations at 30, 60, 90, 120 and 150 degrees.

The former half profiles are then cut out and spaced along the centreline.
Stringers are then positioned to ensure profiles are accurate.

IMG_0247IMG_0246

IMG_0248

But my immediate goal is to complete the sheet metal panelling of the nose section, before applying filler, blocking and painting.

Until next time…

 

2 thoughts on “Full Steam Ahead!

  1. Dear Sir,
    I hope you are still making progress on this Viper build! Your work as seen here is amazing! I just wished I lived nearby, so I could offer my assistance! I am the fellow who could fit out your cockpit, as I do custom dashboards for replica and kit cars, complete with wiring harnesses! I very much look forward to your next update, and hope that I can come to see the completed project some day!
    Best Wishes – David

    Like

    • Hi David, thanks for your great feedback and encouragement! Progress on the Viper build is a little slow at the moment as I’m sidetracked by other projects and real life. It would be great to have your expertise for the cockpit fitout – my knowledge of electrics is sadly lacking. Hopefully I can take the Viper on a world tour when she’s done 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

