Formers/Frames/Bulkheads, repeat…

My recent efforts on the Viper have all been related to the fuselage formers, frames or bulkheads.  These are what gives the fuselage its shape and profile.  Very important to get right and very time consuming to build right.

Former number 1, the largest former at the rear of the cockpit section was fixed into place and then former 8 was constructed at the front.  The completed nose section will mount against this former.

IMG_0498

Former number 4 is at the front of the cockpit section.  This was constructed in a similar fashion to former 1, double sided with a flange in between.  Strong and light weight.

IMG_0507

View from the cockpit.

Former 5 is single sided with an inner and outer flange.

IMG_0523

IMG_0522

The fuselage is taking shape, but I still have another 4 formers to build.

It’s warming up in this part of the world but I’ve been lucky enough to have a few wet and cool weekends to make some progress.  I’ll continue with the formers while the weather permits, but I suspect I won’t achieve much more during the summer months.

 

2 thoughts on “Formers/Frames/Bulkheads, repeat…

  1. That is awesome, I’m building something similar. Are you in Melbourne? If so I can see why you’re taking a break, the heat the last month or two has been diabolical!

    Like

    • Hi mate, I’m in SE Qld – been a bit cooler up here compared to Melbourne from what I hear. Thanks so much for your positive feedback. I’d love to hear more about your project – do you have a web page or blog?

      Cheers!

      Like

Leave a Reply

