A new year, a new beginning…

It’s been a long while since I’ve reported on the Viper build, but I finally have made some progress worthy of publishing.  A new year, a new beginning…

One of my main hurdles was a lack of space for the Viper and my various other projects.  To address this I’ve built another 12m x 7m shed.  This space will allow me to continue with the build and will eventually be the home of the completed Viper.  Always in search of a new challenge, I ended up doing the shed build myself, with some help from family and friends.  It took the best part of 12 months but I now have a great deal of extra space and a hangar in which to house and protect the whole Viper.

 In terms of the Viper, I’ve been sheeting the fuselage and almost have one side complete.  I’ve acquired a bend brake to assist with the straight edge bends and would now be lost without it.

I’ve also been working on the canopy – a combination of aluminium framing and polycarbonate.  The poly sheeting has a slight tint to it and should look great when the canopy is done.

IMG_1425

I began some work on the high engine intake and have a plan on how to sheet it and accurately achieve the compound curves.

Starting to look more like it now:

Finally, I’ve started on the rear half of the Viper framework.

 

I hope my next update will much sooner this time round…  All the best for 2019 !!

10 thoughts on “A new year, a new beginning…

  1. Well now. Slowly, but surely, you are getting closer and closer to finishing this beautiful ship. I should say, I am very impressed with the progress. The storage building was a great idea, since working out of your garage was starting to become a bit crowded, I’m tellin’ ya. 🙂 ‘Very proud of the work you have achieved so far, my friend. I am elated and totally stoked to say the least! You know I’ve been following your build since the very beginning? I mean the VERY beginning! Amazing. I’m glad you’ve never given up on this project. Ya know, about 30 years ago, my kid brother and I often dreamed of getting a place with a barn and we wanted to build a full-sized Viper the very same way you are doing it. I gotta tell ya, it’s a pleasure knowing you, and both myself and my brother are intrigued by your excellent and precision work on your Viper project. Keep the faith and never give up, buddy!
    Regards,
    Kenneth “String” Wyvill, Jr.
    Salvage0ne

    Like

    • Thank you sir, for your encouraging feedback and continued interest. It was never going to be a quick and easy build and I’m finding plenty of challenges with each stage. Yes I certainly understand what it’s like to dream about such a project. For me it was a long time dreaming and conceiving, before finally taking the plunge once the timing was right. I hope the finished build helps to inspire a whole new generation of engineers.
      Thanks and regards
      Scott

      Like

  2. I am soooo glad you are continuing on this build. I was actually worried that something might have happened to you. Glad you are still kicking mate. This build is fantastic. Inspiring and ambitious. Continuing to watch along with much interest, Bless ya mate, keep going!

    Baz. (AKA Builds By Baz)

    Like

    • Hi Baz, thanks for your encouragement mate! Yeah plenty of real life challenges but still kicking.
      Thanks to your awe inspring build for giving me a much needed boost of motivation.
      Your attention to detail on your MKII is second to none. I’m looking forward to seeing it up close and personal.
      You’re ACT right?
      I’m up in Brissie, so with a bit of luck we’ll get the opportunity to display them side by side somewhere, sometime.
      That would be something very special!!

      All the best mate
      Scott

      Like

      • Now that would be something! Let’s make it happen. I had no idea you were in Australia. I must have missed that somewhere. Bless ya mate.

        Baz.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Fantastic mate! I’m a little behind my original schedule and I’m a while away from completion at my current pace. Once it cools down a bit I’m hoping to make some better progress.
        Yeah Qld born and bred, but I did spend a few years in the capital, lived in Gungahlin. Nice place but too cold for my blood, except in Summer 🙂
        Cheers
        Scott

        Like

Leave a comment